Glandore Harbour Yacht Club



Glandore Harbour Yacht Club

GHYC was founded in 1985 by a group of sailing enthusiasts from the shores of Glandore Harbour and further afield. Since, the club has developed steadily to become an important part of the sporting, cultural and social life of the area.

The club’s sailing program caters for Cruisers, Dragons, Squibs and Dinghies and extensive training programmes including ISA training courses and a sailing programme for local schools are also run each summer.

There are club racing fixtures during the season – from May to September. The highlights of these are the At Home Regatta on the June Bank Holiday Weekend, Glandore Regatta which dates back to 1830 – in mid-August, and a Dragon championship every few years.

In addition there is the bi-annual Classic Regatta, usually held in July, which was first run in 1992.

August 16th 2013 saw the Official Opening of the GHYC Club House, the opening was performed by Simon Coveney, TD, Minister for Agriculture, Food and Marine

This was only achieved by a considerable amount of volunteer work by a number dedicated club members. the Club House will provide a valuable base for it’s members and much needed facilites for the Juniors, who are the future of the club.


Listing of GHYC Commodores


Name Period
Donal Lynch 1985 – 1986
Maeve Murphy 1987 – 1988
Cyril Kilgrew 1989 – 1990
Stan Pasley 1991 – 1992
Liam Quirke 1993 – 1994
Mel Bendon 1995 – 1995
Maeve Murphy 1995 – 1997
Cyril Kilgrew 1998 – 1999
Cormac O’Carroll 2000 – 2001
Diarmuid O’Sullivan 2002 – 2003
Donal Lynch 2004 – 2005
Colm Purcell 2006 – 2007
Ian Kirkwood 2008 – 2009
Cormac O’Carroll 2010 – 2011
Maeve Cotter 2012 – 2012
Diarmuid O’Donovan 2012 – 2013
John Dowling 2014 – 2015
Karen Horgan 2016 – 2017
John Wyles2018 -